The future is NOW.

I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to come to this understanding.  God is amazing in how He teaches, leads, guides…. you name it.  He is amazing.

I haven’t had a burning bush moment like Moses.  I haven’t had a Damascus Road experience like Paul.  God in His own way has used so many different people, churches, circumstances, and thinkers to really help me see something I have been missing for so long.

I guess I have been waiting for some mysterious event to happen somewhere out there in the future.  When all the while God has been saying, “The future is NOW! I am speaking to you in this day”  He is doing a work now and I have been missing what was right before my very eyes all along. 

All the reading I have been doing lately for some reason has come together in the past few days.  Acts 19 was the launch into this.  God is doing a work now. 

My Utmost for His Highest today reads,

The mystery of God is not in what is going to be-it is now, though we look for it to be revealed in the future in some overwhelming, momentous event… We look for God to exhibit Himself to His children, but God only exhibits Himself in His children. And while others see the evidence, the child of God does not… God never guides us at some time in the future, but always here and now. Realize that the Lord is here now, and the freedom you receive is immediate.

I am free today to make a decision I have not been free to make until now.  Today I am thankful for that freedom.


10 thoughts on “The future is NOW.

  1. Roye,
    Going commando is nothing of which to be ashamed. It is the hidden third option that no one wants to talk about. Well, unless your pants rip, then you have a problem and then everyone talks about you.

  2. Jayme, it has turned into this… I don’t think Oswald Chambers was talking about this in the quote I posted. But you know Joel! He is good at getting a conversation off track.

  3. I have definitely not been “revealed” recently… But one of my good friends fell out in chapel after his pants split. Talk about being naked before God…

Leave a comment